Jump to main content
Press Office and Crossmedia Communications
University News
University News Honours

Award-Winning Research

Dr. Marco Thomä and Dr. Farhad Safargholi, who received their doctorates at Chemnitz University of Technology, were awarded the Johann Andreas Schubert Prize 2022 for their outstanding dissertations

Dr. Marco Thomä, former research assistant at the Professorship of Composites and Material Compounds at Chemnitz University of Technology, and Dr. Farhad Safargholi, research assistant at the Professorship of Power Systems and High-Voltage Engineering at the university, were honored with the Johann Andreas Schubert Prize in the category of Outstanding Scientific Theses in December 2022. The prize endowed with 3,000 euros was offered by the SACHSENMETALL business association of the metal and electrical industry in Saxony. The ceremonial award of the prize took place in the Conference Center of the Saxon Economy in Radebeul and was presented by the Minister President of Saxony, Michael Kretschmer, the President of the Federation of German Industries, Prof. Dr. Siegfried Russwurm, and the President of the Saxon Employers' Association, Dr. Jörg Brückner.

The award-winning dissertation by Dr. Thomä was devoted to the topic "Effect of high-power ultrasound on process behavior and bonding mechanisms in friction stir welding of aluminum/steel composites". The excellent dissertation by Dr. Safargholi dealt with the "Supplementary impedance approach for assessing the harmonic interaction between the network and the load". This dissertation addresses completely new challenges for the power grid when integrating renewable energy sources and storage systems. The developed supplementary impedance approach has been integrated into FGW TR3 (Technical Guidelines for Distributed Generation Systems, Part 3), which makes the dissertation more relevant to practice despite its high theoretical level.

At the award ceremony, Dr. Thomä had several reasons to be pleased: "I am very happy about the award and especially that I was able to accept it in the presence of my doctoral advisor, Prof. Dr. Guntram Wagner and the Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, Prof. Dr. Andreas Schubert. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank my former colleagues once again for their years of support." Dr. Safargholi would like to thank the Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at Chemnitz University of Technology for its support: "My special thanks go to Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schufft, whose great trust and suggestions made a significant contribution to my scientific and personal development. I would also like to thank Prof. Dr. Klaus Mößner, Vice Dean of the Faculty, for his support and guidance during the award ceremony."

Background: Johann Andreas Schubert Prize

The Johann Andreas Schubert Prize honors outstanding scientific theses with particular practical relevance. The prize has been awarded every two years since 1997 by the foundation of the same name in cooperation with Sachsenmetall, the business association of the metal and electrical industry in Saxony, and is aimed at final theses by students and young scientists at Saxon universities.

Matthias Fejes

All "University News" articles