Jump to main content
Press Office and Crossmedia Communications
University News
University News Honours

Chemnitz Professor Receives Honor from Most Important University in Hungary

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer, Chair of the Professorship for Machine Tools at Chemnitz University and President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft received an honorary doctorate in Budapest

Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer has been granted an honorary doctorate from the Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME). He is Chair of the Professorship for Machine Tools at Chemnitz University and President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft. Prof. Neugebauer was recognized for his outstanding achievements as a researcher, a leader in the academic community and his role as an advocate for Hungarian-German scientific cooperation. “It is truly an honor to receive this honoris causa doctorate,” says Neugebauer.

About: Prof. Dr. Reimund Neugebauer

Reimund Neugebauer studied Mechanical Engineering at TU Dresden with an emphasis on Production Engineering. After receiving his Diplom degree, he was a research assistant at the university and went on to complete his doctorate in 1984. Then, he assumed a management position in the mechanical engineering sector and completed his habilitation degree in 1989. After that, he became a professor at TU Dresden, where he then also became Executive Director of the Institute for Machine Tools in 1990. In 1992, he was appointed Director of the newly-founded Fraunhofer-Organization for Machine Tools and Forming Technology in Chemnitz, which was designated an institute just two years later. Since 1993, he has held the Professorship of Machine Tools at Chemnitz University of Technology. There, he also founded the Institute for Machine Tools and Production Processes (IWP) and has been its Director since 2000. From 2003 through 2006, he also served as Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering.

The 64-year-old is the tenth President of the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft and has held the position since 2012. He is a member of many various national and international scientific communities and associations. He is a member of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) and a Fellow of the International Academy for Production Engineering (CIRP). From 2010 through 2011, he was President of the Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft für Produktionstechnik (WGP). Since 2015, he has served as Co-Chairman of the High-Tech Forum, which provides guidance and recommendations to the Federal Government on all topics in Germany’s High-Tech Strategy.  

In 2003, he received an honorary doctorate from Moscow State Technological University “Stankin”. Further, he received honorary doctorates from Brno University of Technology in 2007, from TU Munich in 2012, from Stellenbosch University in South Africa in 2013, from the Czech Technical University in Prague in 2014, from the University of Naples Federico II and the Wrocław University of Science and Technology in 2015 and in 2017 he received an honorary doctorate from KU Leuven.

In 2005, he received the Officer’s Cross Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. In 2012, he also received the Saxon Order of Merit. He has been a member of the Leopoldina German National Academy of Sciences since 2015.

 (Source: includes press releases from the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft; Translation: Sarah Wilson)

Matthias Fejes

All "University News" articles

Press Articles