The 2020 annual meeting of the Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (German Mathematical Society)

DMV Jahrestagung 2020

was held as a hybrid conference hosted by the Technische Universit├Ąt Chemnitz from September 14th to September 17th 2020.

The traditional elements of a Jahrestagung such as plenary lectures, a public lecture, lectures within the sections as well as minisymposia were made available as synchronous online events. Access to these for registered participants was provided via our Virtual Conference Venue, which was also used for online coffee breaks as well as non-mathematical communication.

The first awarding of the DMV's Minkowski Medal as well as the presentation of the von Kaven Award by the German Research Council (DFG) during the opening and awards ceremony were streamed live from Chemnitz and were followed by the Prize Lecture by the first Minkowski Laureate Moritz Kerz (U Regensburg).

The traditional Emmy Noether Lecture, which takes place at every annual meeting of the DMV, was given this year by Barbara Kaltenbacher (U Klagenfurt).

Two workshops with a long tradition at the TU Chemnitz, the Chemnitz Finite Element Symposium and the Chemnitz Symposium on Inverse Problems, took place within the DMV Jahrestagung 2020.

Local Organisation Uta Freiberg, Christian Sevenheck, Vladimir Shikhman, Peter Stollmann